Goals and Resolutions for 2013!

Overall, I was very pleased with the way that 2012 went. I made some positive strides in my life (some that I committed to and stuck to and others that showed me glimpses of my potential, like my month of doing Insanity). I began the year with a budding relationship that turned sour fast – not in a mean way, but due to incompatibility. Then, out of that sadness, I found the woman that I am sure I am meant to be with. We have been dating for more than nine months now, and I couldn’t be happier with the state of our relationship. We have fun, we challenge each other, and we feel completely comfortable expressing our love for one another. I am about as happy as I have ever been. The only major negative that I can recall from this past year was the passing away of my grandma. She was a constant presence in my life, and I feel her absence from time to time – particularly during this holiday season. But, I take comfort in the fact that she lived a good, long life. She was active until her dying day and I feel blessed to have gotten to spend so much time with her growing up.

Heading into 2013, there are a few areas of my life in which I would like to improve. These are not necessarily things I am dissatisfied about, but rather things that I think I am capable of. I feel each of these changes will make me a better person in the long run.

Improve my overall health

  • I will eat better – meaning that I will add more fruits and vegetables to my diet,   eat less junk food, monitor my calories to a reasonable extent, and seek variety
  • I will exercise regularly – I plan to do some form of exercise every day. I will do cardio at least 4 days a week, and strength exercises 3 days a week.
  • I will get my weight back to 175 pounds
  • I will practice good hygiene – the dentist will soon tell me that I need to floss more, and I will try to do that (along with shaving regularly, keeping clean, etc.)
  • I will limit pop to one can a day (or less)

Read more

  • I will try to read at least thirty books this year (this goal may increase or decrease based on the lengths of the books I choose)
  • I will track my progress on Goodreads and write a review for each book that I read in order to keep myself honest and to catalog my reaction to each book

Stay more informed on the news

  • I will read up on current events (probably from internet sources), but I will try to gain a better knowledge of what is happening in the world around me

I will start recycling

  • Currently, we don’t recycle in our apartment, but I will start to at least separate cans and glass out for recycling.
  • I will also start unplugging things when not in use in an effort to help do my part to preserve the environment.

I will write more

  • During the spring I will develop and write my thesis project, which I will continue to work on over the summer. In the fall, I will revise some more, write an introduction, and defend it.
  • I will write at least ten pages of fiction a month (hopefully more, but this goal seems reasonable)
  • I will experiment with writing poetry
  • I will send out some of my work to try to get published
  • I will maintain my WordPress blog, attempting to write at least one post a week.

Procrastinate less

  • I will try to develop better study habits and do my work on time (or even early)

Get a job

  • I will find some form of part-time job this spring and start looking for long-term possibilities.
  • I will create an up-to-date resume

Be more conscious of money

  • I will keep track of my money and create a budget in order to save for the future
  • I will not let money control my life, however – Sam and I will still have plenty of fun together!

Propose to Sam

  • She knows it is coming, but doesn’t know the date. This is an important step that I am ready to take with her and I fully intend to do that this year!

I am sure that I will think of more things to add to the list. Of course I also intend to spend more time with my family and to keep in touch with them – a must if I am to be at my happiest. The new year is full of possibilities and opportunities, and I look forward to experiencing all of them. Good luck to everyone with their individual goals! I wish you all the success in the world.

Leave a comment